Can't get enough of The Great Gatsby? Check out these books and movies that will keep you floating in a world of intrigue and indulgence.

Whether you're a purist who discovered F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic in high school or you never gave The Great Gatsby a shot until Leonardo DiCaprio stepped into his shoes, you'll love these books and movies that embrace the spirit of the dark, powerful tale.

^ To watch

The Aviator

PRICE: (Amazon, $6)
The Aviator DVD

Moulin Rouge

Price: (Amazon, $5)
Moulin Rouge DVD

If you hit up The Great Gatsby for the gorgeous costumes and its leading man, you'll love The Aviator. Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Howard Hughes, the millionaire who took his fortune to Hollywood and romanced some of the biggest stars of the silver screen. Watch for the romance and history.

One of The Great Gatsby director Baz Luhrmann's most well-known films is Moulin Rouge, a musical that takes anachronism to new heights. If the first act of The Great Gatsby impressed you the most, you'll love the over-the-top musical numbers and frenetic pace of Moulin Rouge. Watch for the glitter and tragedy.

Midnight in Paris

PRICE: (Best Buy, $20)
Midnight in Paris DVD

Chicago

Price: (Amazon, $7)
Chicago DVD

With fantasy scenes set in Paris in the 1920s, Midnight in Paris is a quirky romantic comedy that embraces illusion, love and creativity. F. Scott Fitzgerald, as portrayed by Tom Hiddleston, plays a small part in this strange story of love and what-ifs. Watch for the literary fantasies come true.

The 2002 movie version of the Broadway hit Chicago has all the flappers, crime and jazz you're looking for if you loved the more energetic aspects of The Great Gatsby. Chicago spotlights crime mavens and how good they are at being bad. Watch for the long legs and hot jazz.

^ To read

The Sun Also Rises

PRICE: (Amazon, $12)
The Sun Also Rises cover

Tender is the Night

Price: (Barnes & Noble, $12)
Tender is the Night cover

Ernest Hemingway's 1926 novel The Sun Also Rises has elements of The Great Gatsby when it comes to romance and questionable choices. As in Gatsby, the main characters of this novel are truly flawed people living a decadent lifestyle. Read for the riveting characters.

F. Scott Fitzgerald's final completed novel, Tender is the Night, tells the story of a glamorous couple with dark secrets. As in The Great Gatsby, infidelity and intrigue play a big part of the romance and happily ever afters are not within reach. Read for the cringe factor.

Breakfast at Tiffany's

PRICE: (Amazon, $11)
Breakfast at Tiffany's cover

Atonement

Price: (Barnes & Noble, $13)
Atonement cover

Put aside what you know of the classic film and take a look at Truman Capote's novella, Breakfast at Tiffany's. Like The Great Gatsby, this story gives the reader an inside glimpse at a niche society full of mystery, glamour and edgy romance. Read for the mysterious flirting.

If you're looking for a read that carries you even deeper into drama and loss, try Ian McEwan's wartime novel, Atonement. This unsettling, lyrical story of romance and consequences will leave you haunted. Read for the good, hard cry.

More books to check out

Heat up your nightstand
Love Downton Abbey? Check out these books
5 Novels to read if you liked Fifty Shades of Grey

Topics: movies